Reset Setting Change contrast to brightChange contrast to originalChange contrast to darkChange font size to lower sizeChange font size to original sizeChange font size to large size
MITI's Portal

   Transforming    Industry

ASEAN Single Window and National Single Window


  • On 9 December 2005, ASEAN has agreed to establish the ASEAN Single Window (ASW) to expedite customs procedures within ASEAN by setting-up a single clearance channel for goods for ASEAN-6 by 2008, and newer members by 2012.

  • The ASW Pilot project has been successfully conducted between Philippines and Thailand. Activities include the exchange information of the ASEAN Customs Declaration Document and Certificate of Origin (Form D) under the CEPT Scheme of AFTA.

  • To date, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippine s and Thailand have set up respective national working bodies to implement their National Single Window (NSW), which will be integrated to form the ASW.


A National Single Window (NSW) is an electronic system to facilitate trade, increase efficiency of the Government delivery system and provide benefits to all members of the trading community, including government agencies.

The NSW allows:

  • a single point of entry for submission of data and information;

  • re-use of data and information to avoid repeated keying-in of data;

  • single synchronous processing of data and information; and

  • quick and easy release and clearance of cargo.

The NSW will involve six major areas of coordinated processing of information and data. These areas of information processing within the NSW are:

  • Customs;

  • Permit Issuing Agencies / Other Government Agencies;

  • Banking and Insurance Agency;

  • Transport Community;

  • Trading Community; and

  • ASEAN / International Link.

Last Updated 2017-06-07 16:09:05 by Fauziah Osman

  • Email this page