Reset Setting Change contrast to brightChange contrast to originalChange contrast to darkChange font size to lower sizeChange font size to original sizeChange font size to large size
MITI's Portal

   About MITI

Anugerah Kecemerlangan Industri (AKI)

AKI 2016 Winners

The nine winners of AKI 2016 are:

A)  Manufacturing Sector Awards

  1. Category 1 (with sales turnover not exceeding RM50 Mil) - Paradigm Precision Components Sdn Bhd
  2. Category 2 (with sales turnover of RM50 Mil – RM100Mil) - Exis Tech Sdn Bhd
  3. Category 3 (with sales turnover of  more than RM100Mil) - Salutica Allied Solutions Sdn Bhd


B)  Services Sector Awards

  1. Category 1 (with sales turnover not exceeding RM20 Mil) - Medical Apparatus Supplies Sdn. Bhd.
  2. Category 2 (with sales turnover of RM20 Mil – RM50Mil ) - Upstream Downstream Process & Services Sdn Bhd
  3. Category 3 (with sales turnover of  RM50Mil – RM 100Mil) - KPJ Klang Specialist Hospital
  4. Category 4 (with sales turnover of  more than RM100Mil) - Johor Port Berhad


C)  Open Category Award

  1. Finisar Malaysia Sdn Bhd


D)  Prime Minister’s Award

  1. KPJ Klang Specialist Hospital

What is AKI?

About The Award

  • The Anugerah Kecemerlangan Industri (AKI) or Industry Excellence Award was introduced by the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) in 1991 to recognise outstanding Malaysian companies and to encourage continuous improvement in products and services rendered. Over the years, AKI has gained a reputation for being the nation’s premier corporate recognition award.
  • In 2012, the AKI underwent a rebranding process to review its concept; award categories; the evaluation and assessment procedures; as well as the incentives for winners. As a result, the AKI returned in 2014 with several new and improved features.
  • Starting 2016, a new category which is Open Category for Multinational Companies (from both manufacturing and services sectors) is introduced. All winners of the categories will also be in the running for the exclusive Prime Minister’s Award. This award which is AKI’s premier award is given in recognition of overall industry excellence.


  • Recognise the most outstanding companies in the manufacturing and services industries
  • Recognise companies with business plans to increase value-added products or services
  • Recognise companies with best practices that render them as inspiring role models to other companies

AKI Council Members (2016 and 2017)



YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Azman Hashim

Chairman, Ambank Group

YBhg. Tan Sri Dr. Rebecca Fatima Sta Maria

Senior Policy Fellow, Economic Research Institute of Asean and East Asia (ERIA)

YBhg. Datuk Isham Ishak

Deputy Secretary General, Ministry of International Trade & Industry (MITI)

YBhg. Tan Sri Siti Sa'diah Sh Bakir

Director, KPJ Healthcare Berhad

YBhg. Datuk Seri Tajuddin Atan

Chief Executive Officer, Bursa Malaysia Berhad

YBhg. Datuk Aishah Ahmad

President, Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA)

YBhg. Dato’ Hazimah Zainuddin

Managing Director, Hyrax Oil Sdn Bhd

YBhg. Dato’ Norman Abdul Halim

Executive President, KRU Studios Sdn Bhd

Mr. Callum Chen

Chief Executive Officer, LH Plus Sdn Bhd

Mr. Shaifubahrim Saleh

Chief Executive Officer, Gamat Emas International Sdn Bhd

Ms. Sarena Cheah Yean Tih

Managing Director, Sunway Group

Mr. David A. Jones

Head of EUMCCI Aerospace Committee

AKI Evaluation Process

AKI Evaluation Process

AKI 2018 Prizes and Benefits

1. Cash prize of RM500,000 for the winner of the Prime Minister's Award


A trophy and certificate


Publicity for winners:

  • Eligible to use the AKI logo for publicity purposes for 3 years from the date of receiving the award;

  • Included in publicity programmes for AKI;

  • Featured in MATRADE's publication (MATRADE website and Online News) and given space to advertise company products/services in MATRADE's export directory;

  • Company details published in AKI Winner's Book for distribution to all MITI and its Agencies as a promotional material; and

  • Publicity in MITI and Agencies websites.

AKI 2018 Entry Requirements: Who can apply?

Winners of awards in the manufacturing and services sectors awarded by MITI and any other Ministry/agency or the private sector (awards won two (2) years prior the date of current AKI);
Companies invited to participate after being identified by MITI or nominated by Trade Associations and Chambers of Commerce;
Company is incorporated in Malaysia in accordance with the Companies Act, 1965;
Has been in operation for at least three (3) continuous years;
Submitted audited financial statements for the past three (3) consecutive financial years.

Malaysia BE Framework

Malaysia BE Framework

Criteria Point Values

No. Criteria Value
1. Leadership   150
2. Planning  90
3. Information  90
4. Customer   110
5. People 120
6. Process 90
7. Results 350


Scoring Interpretation

Scoring Interpretation

AKI Award Categories

A.  Manufacturing Sector

AKI Award Categories

B.  Services Sector

AKI Award Categories

C. Open Category

Open for Multinational Companies (from manufacturing and services sector)

D. Most Promising Category

  1. Recognition to a company for the development of various aspects in the company and displaying exceptional promise of leadership and significant growth for the future through its vision and mission;
  2. Positive flow in annual sales turnover and profit;
  3. Establishment age of the company not more than 5 years.


  •  The winner of the Prime Minister’s Award will be selected from among the winners of the categories



What is BEF?

Worldwide Adoption of Business Excellence(BE)


Global Excellence Model (GEM) Council

  • GEM Council : International network overseeing BE Framework/ Model.

  • Membership : 11 countries representing 4.48b pop(61% share of the world’s population).

  • To be accepted as member : must have a comprehensive framework/model for organizational sustainability and award process with strong governance system.

  • Meeting : annually to discuss progress, new trends that will impact sustainability and benchmark best practices in BE framework adoption

  • Malaysia’s Position : Admitted as Associate Member in 2014 and Full Member 2016

GEM Council & Framework


Malaysia Business Excellence Framework


The Scoring System


Scoring Interpretation from BE Assessment


Baldrige Performance Excellence Program Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award


The Alliance For Performance Excellence - State Level Award


Japan Management Excellence Program Japan Quality Award


Singapore’s Business Excellence Initiative Singapore Quality Award


Singapore Quality Award/ Recognition


AKI Booklet

AKI Booklet
Click on image above to view the AKI Booklet

Info on AKI Workshop and Clinic

AKI Form

Click here to register AKI 2018.

Template for AKI Document Submission

AKI Scoring Guidelines

AKI Assessment Criteria

AKI Past Winners Arrangement by Year

Last Updated 2017-03-17 23:23:42 by Azuna Hasbullah atau Abd Rahman

  • Email this page